Keyboards and other devices…

I spend a lot of time in front of a computer. This is for two reasons a) I get paid to do things on a computer and b) computers are fun. O.k. b) isn’t always true but a) always is. Recently I also used a telephone but I suspect that even that will get sucked into a computer fairly soon.

Anyway I’ve spent some years doing this and then I had an epiphany (which is less painful than it sounds) and realised that I generally used cheap rubbish devices to work on all day and given that I was spending up to ten hours a day in front of the dread machine maybe I should try something different. So I bought a flatscreen monitor, a trackball and a funky aluminum keyboard. The flatscreen montior is great but the other two I can’t help feeling emphasise form over function.

Keyboards are however remarkable standard – even when you walk into an electronics store most of them are exactly the same – with only minor variations on layout or some special buttons. Useful links:-

  • A big innovation is the Microsoft Natural Keyboard (Microsoft Website) and the various variations on the theme.
  • On a more hard core note there is the happy hacking keyboard: Linux Emporium
  • Also there are these things PC Keyboard who make the classic solid click IBM type keyboards. I’m old enough to remember those, I still like the sound and the feel is quite nice though it does annoy people a bit after a while – anyway at least from these people you can get a control key in place of the caps lock key….
Leave a Reply

